Introducing Becky From Colorado

183463_777243825636_888487389_n

My day starts every morning at 5am with a wakeup call from Rig 330 in beautiful Eastern Colorado. After our typical quick chat, “Love you! Miss You! I’m off to my safety meeting” I drag myself out of bed, tip toe down the hall towards the Keurig and that is where my day begins as a Working OFW.

Hi all! My name is Becky and I am an OFW that also works fulltime as a Digital Sales Manager and I am a fulltime mommy too. My hubby and I have been married for almost four years now and have been an oilfield couple since the beginning! Our family consists of a wildly entertaining two year old little girl named Riley Madison, Lady the Labrador, and a ferocious dachshund named Oliver or Mr. Weinie!

I like to tell people we have a “Modern Day Fairytale” and no we are not swingers! We dated six months, found out we were pregnant, ran to the courthouse on my lunch break, got married, celebrated with Taco Bell and Oreos, and well here we are. No engagement, no wedding, and I had to wait a year for my ring until the nursery was paid off, but we would not be where we are today without every single one of those crazy decisions.

A lot has changed in the past four years; I graduated college with a BA in Business, I went from working two jobs to one, we have our daughter and my husband’s schedule shifted into two on, two off, where before he was home most nights. This means when he is away not only am I working forty hours a week  and taking care of our little one,  but I am the cook, the maid, the nurse, the maintence man,  and the landscaper. Let me just say my middle name is “multi-tasker” and yes I have mowed the yard on my lunch break before, not in heels but close.

The hardest part about being a working OFW is those two weeks he has off and still having to drag myself to work, but the best part is the certainty in knowing we are saving for our daughter, we both have retirement savings, and I will not be paying of student loans the rest of my life.  I support him, because he supports us, and not only am I an OFW but we are a OF team! Did I mention, having a daughter does not necessarily support a shopping habit, but working makes it a little less obvious and a little more fun.

About rebecca

Becky and her family live in the beautiful town of Grand Junction, Colorado. She has been an OFW for almost three years, has a degree in Business Management, and works fulltime as a Digital Sales Manager for a local news station. She and her husband have one three year old daughter, Riley who is sweet, sassy, and even in heels and boas likes to pretend she is a dragon, that’s right ladies a dragon. In addition to work, Becky also volunteers on a fundraising committee for a local hospital, is a marketing chair member for a local not for profit, and helps pitch in at her daughters pre-school to raise funds. In her spare time (because she has SO MUCH of it) this OFW enjoys gardening, building projects on Shutterfly, cooking, golfing with her hubby, playing volleyball, and enjoying time on the lake with her family. Follow Becky on Pinterest and Instagram.

Comments

  1. Rebecca! It’s so nice to have you on board here at ROW! My hat goes off to you for working full-time and managing your home! I can’t wait to learn more about you and your family!!

  2. So glad to have you on board, Becky! You’re awesome!

  3. Katie || See You There says:

    Such a cute family, Becky! Happy to have you here!

  4. Hi Becky, was wondering if you could help me out with an issue. How do you handle working the full time job when your husband is home for his days off. I have not been working recently, but I have been offered a position 5 to 6 nights a week from 4-10 pm. My boyfriend (we have been together 2 years almost) is 2 weeks on, 1 week off…and I just have this fear that I would never see him. At the same time, we do not have kids, and I feel that I would like to work and save some of my own money so we can both put down towards a down payment to a house. If anyone could help me out with this, I’d appreciate it. It’s very stressful not knowing what to put first. Thanks!

  5. Hi Angie! First of all, KUDOS to you and your mindset of being a team! Working towards your goals together with two incomes will def get you into your new dream home much quicker than one 🙂 You know, ever since I have been with my oilfield man, I have held down one if not two fulltime jobs, in fact he told me that was one major characteristic that attracted him to me, was my work ethic and independence. He tells me he gets asked by other guys on the rig all the time why I work and he says because she doesn’t expect me to carry the full load, she wants to help and the response is always “that’s awesome!” My husbands schedule is 2 on 2 off, but even on those two off I work 40+hrs/wk, so sounds like we are in similar situations. My advice to you, have the open discussion with him, tell him why you want to work but your concerns. Make sure he knows that your relationship is your #1 priority but you’d like to help to achieve both your dreams while you are able. I would even be willing to go as far to tell him, I’d love to help out now, because one day when we have little ones I may not be able to, Ill be taking care of the kidos! I will admit working when they are on days off is THE HARDEST, but you adjust and your time together becomes that much more special. And lets face it, if it does not work out girl, you can always quit, but never pass up at least trying something new, you never know what road it could lead you down! Good luck!

Speak Your Mind

*


*