Learning Something New

Book and a daisy flower

For months now, I have felt a small sadness at no longer being in the workforce. After getting my first job at 16 and working for the last ten years, being a stay-at-home mom has taken some getting used to.

One of the ways I have coped with the sadness of not working and the lonely feeling that comes with being a single parent for half of the year is to learn new things. I love to learn. (This is about the only explanation I can come up with for my history degree.) It takes my mind off of things and helps the time to pass.

I also love lists. So, here is a list of a few things I have, or will, accomplish while being a stay-at-home mom:

Going to school– The first few courses of my degree were completed while I was still pregnant and working, so I know I could have kept going if I was still at work. However, I am so glad that I don’t have to juggle work along with everything else. I am able to focus on school once the kiddos are in bed and in March, I will be graduating with a Master of Public Administration degree.

Crocheting– I have never been very crafty. In college, while all of my sorority sisters were making puffy paint shirts, I was usually in the woods with ROTC. (I always did prefer real guns to those that were used with hot glue.) It’s not that I didn’t want to make things, I was just horrible at it. Now, thanks to a friend from my old job, I have finally learned to crochet. Well, I’ve started to learn. I can make one killer coaster.

Cooking– When you are at home all day, you tend to make the same meals over and over again. After while, you get really tired of those recipes and crave something different. Now, I actually have the time to focus on finding recipes that everyone in my family will love.

Re-finish furniture- This skill also goes along with my frugal momma attitude. I have the perfect piece for my first project in a small table I use in my kitchen. Now, I just have to find the time when there aren’t kids running around!

What do you do with your spare time? What things are you looking forward to learning? Leave a comment below or send me a tweet!

Want the latest and greatest of Real Oilfield Wives in your inbox? Subscribe here!

About Jaimie

Jaimie is 26 years old, wife of five years to JR, and mother of two beautiful children: Ashley, 4 and Justin, 1. When not spending time with her family, and watching movies based on Jane Austen novels, she finds new ways to live a healthy and fulfilling life. Jaimie lives in Fayetteville, North Carolina. Follow Jaimie on Twitter or on her blog, Education of an Oilfield Wife!

Speak Your Mind

*


*